59 replies to this topic

#21 flare

flare

Private Pilot - IFR

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts

Posted 11 March 2014 - 04:21 PM

http://www.tomnod.co...aysiaairsar2014 - Help find it, DigitalGlobe have supplied the imagery.

#22 LA_PHX

LA_PHX

Orville Reincarnate

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,783 posts

Posted 11 March 2014 - 06:04 PM

View PostIndependence76, on 11 March 2014 - 04:21 PM, said:

Wouldn't some less advanced military radar still be able to get a raw picture of the aircraft's track?

This is something I'm still learning about but, as I understand it...

If the system is comprised of secondary surveillance radar only (which relies on that transponder being on), then no, it wouldn't. Again, this is without knowing the actual systems they use but it would explain the possibility of it being completely invisible to Malaysia's civil ATC.

At the end of the day, I think Malaysia is going to have some serious questions to answer. Maybe it's just me but it seems like their coordination between domestic agencies and foreign agencies has been pretty dismal. For them to take this long to figure out that they think the aircraft might have turned back and actually made it across Malaysia to its western coast is horrendous. Every day that goes by where they cannot find a single clue in the disappearance leads to more and more people losing faith in their efforts.

With the latest revelation that it did make it to the Straight of Malaca (even if that's to be trusted), I cannot think of anything that would cause such an event other than malicious intent by someone on the aircraft (pilot, passenger, etc.).

Edited by LA_PHX, 11 March 2014 - 06:07 PM.

#23 LA_PHX

LA_PHX

Orville Reincarnate

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,783 posts

Posted 11 March 2014 - 08:46 PM

Complete idiocy at this point: http://online.wsj.co...0MDEwMTExNDEyWj

Nobody knows who said what or what is going on.

#24 SwitchFX

SwitchFX