#1 NGAviator

NGAviator

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 31 July 2015 - 09:01 AM

Hello fellow aviators.

Since a few months I've switched from using Windows to Linux (Ubuntu)
I had always been very much into Microsoft flight simulator (2004, X)
Although I did take a large break in flight simming due to all sorts of priorities.

I know Flight simulator X doesn't run on Linux, aswell as so many other games.
I could use Wine, but I'm confident that's going to cause all sorts of performance issues and I expect many mods would present quite the challenge for them to be successfully installed so I decided I should forget thinking about using FSX on a Linux computer.

In my opinion that leaves... either Flight Gear or X-plane. (if there are other alternative Flight simulators, please specify)
I have no experience with either of the Flight simulators, although X-plane 10 does seem to be a little more popular.
As for that, I see no Flight gear subsection around on this community. Perhaps because it's a little less popular or intended for specific groups of end time users.

I would however stress that I desire a fully impartial opinion on both products by anyone that's willing to advise me hence forth (unless one only has advice about one of the particular simulators)

My demands are simple-

-Realism (above all)
-Able to install plugins
-Multiplayer support that works within Linux (either build in or through third party software)
-Graphics/performance