1 reply to this topic

#1 PhilTandy

PhilTandy

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 May 2016 - 01:26 PM

I would like to get back into simming, my last foray was FS98! Life, kids, marriage, career took over. I haven't got a very high spec machine (win10, 1.9ghz, 1tb hdd,  8g ram, 64bit.  I was thinking of buying fs2004 but do not know if it will work. Help!

#2 270901kungas

270901kungas

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 June 2016 - 08:27 AM

Hello,

I have been flight-simming since about 1980 or so and in my dotage have picked up again and run three sims, FS 2002, FS 2004, and FSX Steam Edition.
I use a fairly low spec PC (dulal core Intel 2.41 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, and Intel intergrated graphics). Despite the hardware being low spec I run FS 2002 with everything maxed out. With FS 2004 nearly everything maxed out. With FSX Steam Edition everything up to about 75%. The one trick with all three is to set the frame rates at maximum. Play with Bi-linear or Tri-linear until you have the best balance.

You hardware is better than mine except for the processor.

Now don't get all excited yet. FS 2002 and FS 2004 do not want to work under Windows 10. I found this out over several weeks of trying every trick and tweak I could find on the net. No go. !.

There is one hard way to have FS 2002 and especially FS 2004 run under Windows 10. This way is daunting and not for the uninitiated when it comes to Operating Systems.

If you can, back up everything to USB's and roll your PC back to Windows 8.1 (64 bit) or Windows 7 (64 bit).  Rolling back to a Windows 32 bit OS will not allow Windows 10 to install and keep all your files, programs, and settings. Yes, hard work but the only way I found I could have FS 2002 and FS 2004 run under Windows 10.