3 replies to this topic

#1 dreighver

dreighver

Passenger

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 10:32 PM

Hey all, first time poster here! I'm currently new to the flight-sim world, so I have a lot to learn. I'm trying to figure out what flight simulator to purchase, how to run it on my machine, and what addons I should supplement the aforementioned flight sim with.

My computer (laptop, rather), is pretty limited, relatively speaking of course. I'm currently using a mid-2012 Macbook Pro, and plan on running FSX (or another flight sim of choice) via Windows 7 64 bit, which I will use w/ Bootcamp.

As for the specs on my computer, they go as follows...

Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB

Soooo... obviously, my machine, while not entirely worthless, is on the lower end. From doing some reading, and having played the FSX demo, I think my computer CAN handle it, although not ideally. I did manage to run the trial at max settings and averaged between 15-20 FPS. What I plan to do is buy a SATA III SSD, and connect it externally via a USB 3.0 adapter. From what I've read and researched this should work and allow the game to function based on reports from others who have done the same. Obviously it's not as ideal as running the game with a higher end rig, but it should suffice.

Where I'm going with this is that I need to figure out what simulator to purchase. I was dead set on FSX, primarily due to the various addons and PMDG's support. However, I was informed about P3D and X Plane 10 earlier today.