- - - - -

Traffic addon preference (& their impact on performance)

traffic

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 PhillyPennPilot

PhillyPennPilot

Student Pilot

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 08:20 PM

I'm thinking about getting a Traffic addon for FSX. I'm really new to Flight Sim in general, I'm am hardly a good flyer (yet) ;) and I don't do any multi-player flying (yet). But in the meantime I'd like the skies to be a bit friendlier and more realistic.  It seems like there are two options that folks like a lot: Ultimate Traffic 2  and  Traffic 360.

1) They seem pretty darn similar to me.  Are there any major advantages/disadvantages to either? Anyone have a preference?

2) I'm worried about how this will impact the performance.  My machine is ok but not great, and I struggle to get a decent frame rate in densely populated areas or complex airports.  Will putting more traffic in the air make a significant difference to my FPS?  It seems that just turning up the default traffic settings slow things down, so I'm wondering if either of the two products above will do the same ... or be even worse.

Thanks for the input!

#2 Capt_Gabe

Capt_Gabe

Commercial Pilot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,537 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 07:09 AM

I use Ultimate Traffic 2 and I'm quite happy with it, its pretty versatile (made my own schedules for airports in my home area) and I don't see any significant  performance hit, I think your system would be ok, depending on what else you're running etc. I'm not familiar with Traffic 360 so cant give you a comparison.

#3 PhillyPennPilot

PhillyPennPilot

Student Pilot

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 06:54 PM

View PostCapt_Gabe, on 03 May 2014 - 07:09 AM, said: