- - - - -

Looking to buy new laptop - FS2004 setup okay?

fs2004 specs system requirements laptop dedicated graphics card processor new

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ignaciojapan

ignaciojapan

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 03:45 AM

Hi all,

I'm looking to buy a fairly cheap laptop that I will dedicate solely to FS2004. Here's the setup I've been considering:
  • 1TB SATA 5400rpm Hard Drive
  • 8GB DDR3 RAM
  • 2GB dedicated video memory
  • Intel 3rd Gen i7 2.4GHz processor (With Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz) <--don't know what that quite means
  • NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M Graphics Card
Ideally, I want a nice balance of scenery to AI Traffic to FPS, looking for any FPS rate that can take me at the speed I'm going (i.e. my current frame rate takes me 1 hour to go 350nm at 450kt GS).

Also, I'm new to the FS world (after converting from X-Plane), so any starter tips would be greatly appreciated!

#2 FSX_Gamer

FSX_Gamer

Private Pilot - VFR

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:08 AM

Turbo boost to 3.4 GHz is good enough, VGA card is a bit slow, HDD and RAM won't be a problem (even a 60GB HDD will run FSX properly, but it's not recommended). If space and mobility is not your problem, you can buy a desktop PC of higher specs of the same price.

#3 ignaciojapan

ignaciojapan

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:29 AM

Okay, what are some recommended graphics cards? Again, I don't need 100s of fps, but enough to run comfortably.

#4 ignaciojapan

ignaciojapan

Passenger

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:10 AM

EDIT: How about this?
  • AMD FX-Series 3.5GHz Processor
  • 8GB DDR3 SDRAM
  • 1TB SATA III 7200rpm hard drive
  • AMD Radeon HD 7750 Graphics card
  • 1GB Dedicated video memory
Thanks,
Ignacio

#5 FSX_Gamer

FSX_Gamer

Private Pilot - VFR

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 04:21 AM