4 replies to this topic

#1 PhillyPennPilot

PhillyPennPilot

Student Pilot

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 April 2014 - 02:07 AM

First off, this is my first post and I'm a total newbie to simming, so apologizes in advance.  Just bought FSX a couple of weeks ago and barely know how to fly -- but that's improving. ;)  There are many scenery options, but it seems like there's a consensus and it basically comes down to two formats/systems:

Ultimate Terrain X + Ground Environment X  vs.  FTX Global + FTX Vector + a landclass layer.

Ok, so maybe there are other viable options out there, but these are the two I've narrowed it down to.  And I know you can mix & match to some extent, but it seems like it makes more sense to stick with one since there will be fewer possible incompatibilities.  Anyway, here are my questions:

1) Lots of people say that the Orbx FTX combo looks the best, especially if you add a landclass layer (which they currently are working on apparently).  Will this supposedly better looking suite of programs be harder to run on my machine?  Basically does it come at a cost of FPM?

2) If I do go the FTX route, will what landclass layer should I buy?  Until they put out their openLC, it looks like basically my options are SceneryTech and Cloud9 XClass.

3) Either way how much of an impact will getting terrain mesh (probably FS Global 2010) impact the visual experience.  There's only so much I can afford right now and I'm not sure if this is something that should just wait.

Fyi, couple of things to consider your advice: I fly mostly in North America, but I think that will change once I start to get more into it; I'm a bit more inclined to prop planes at lower altitudes, but again that might change as well; my computer isn't quite a potato, but it's not a marvel of technology at all (AMD A10-5700 @ 3.5 GHz, 8 GB / Radeon R7-260x, 2 GB, DDR5 / Win 8, x64bit).